Boards

yes my workshop/corner of the garage is a mess...

My grand father was a carpenter but unfortunately he wasn’t the mentoring type and I didn’t pick up much from him. He mainly made formwork anyhow. but I’ve got a couple of his tools. These are pretty easy to make with or without power tools, I used a cheap jigsaw and a belt sander and powerdrill which made the whole thing pretty quick, maybe 3 or 4 hours start to finish.

It has been hot lately (up to 41deg C the other day) with lots of evening storms and rain perfect weather for disappearing into my cool basement garage to do some woodwork.

I bought some 6mm hoop pine plywood but I wished I had time to look harder for some 2nd hand stuff, you don’t need much. The 6mm stuff is very light (the top deck and the side loaders combine to just over a kilo). The 6mm is fine for the top deck as its well supported along its length but its a bit flexy for the side loaders. It would be quicker just to use thicker ply, but I just screwed and glued an extra “stringer” of ply underneath to increase the strength. However standing towards the inside edge is still pretty flexible.

Just trace around the side loaders and cut with a jigsaw

It’s tricky to figure out exactly where to drill the holes for the mounting screws (which are already on the V3 Mundo). I just clamped the boards into position and it left an impression in the wood showing where I needed to drill. I also greased all the mounting bolts so they don’t rust into position. The heads on these hex bolts are notoriously easy to strip.

These are the dimensions I got for the top deck but measure for yourself!

I used some leftover Tung based flooring oil to seal the boards; 3 coats. It created a beautiful yellow-gold matt finish which I think suits the bike well.

boards getting oiled - stringers on sideloaders

As well as the top and lower boards I put some side boards to keep my boys feet out of the spokes and allow me to easier mount some kind of foot rest for my younger shorter fella. I drilled some holes in these to allow strapping points for cargo and to keep the weight down (shaved a whole 200gms off, yes I am embarrassed to say I did weigh them…), plus it looks funkier!

I’m kind of glad I’m still waiting on the rear brake as it has made me focus on the boards this weekend. Test ride was great all tight and good. There was a weird reverberation off the lower boards from the drive drain, just sounded a bit weird.

I’ve now got some Yuba soft spot seat which seem pretty good and sturdy. With these you don’t need a topdeck, they have a thick flexible plastic base. I was going to drill some cutouts in the topdeck to allow the pannier bag to fit but I’m just going to go with the soft spots without a deck. A pity it looked great with the deck!


Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Boards”

  1. Steve Allen Says:

    Hello, I have a Yuba (V3?). I was kicking around this same sort of idea. But your build has inspired me, after seeing how good it looks! With it’s simplicity, I would like to copy this.
    Thank you

    Steve Allen

    • keller74 Says:

      Thanks for your comments Steve. Imitation is the highest form of flattery! I used very thin 6mm ply and have found this more than strong enough. I was worried the side loader boards, even with the stringer underneath, would not be strong enough but my 30kg 7 year old son steps on it everyday and it’s fine. Also the side panel has 4 bolts with the front one not in the same plane. It is inboard about a 1/4 inch, so the thin 6mm ply can bend to accommodate this, although I did pack out the front bolt 6mm with some ply offcut to lessen the bend somewhat. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

